Two From HBCUs Named to 2022 NCAA Division I Baseball All-America Team

The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) has named its NCAA Division I All-America first, second, and third teams for the 2022 season. Two utility players from Historically Black College and Universities (HBCUs) were recognized by the organization in its annual list of the best collegiate baseball student-athletes.

Shemar Page of Grambling State was the top two-way offensive and defensive leader for the Tigers. Page was a second team NCBWA All-America selection and completed the season batting .351 with nine doubles, six triples, three home runs and 28 runs batted in.  On the mound, he was 8-5 with a 2.60 earned run average and 142 strikeouts in 104.2 innings pitched.


Jordan Hamburg Coppin State earned third team All-America honors after going 6-3 with a 5.15 earned run average, striking out 87 batters in 64.2 innings pitched. At the plate during the season Hamburg batted .347 with ten doubles, two triples, eight home run, and 34 runs batted in. Hamburg was listed as a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy by the NCBWA. The award is given annually to the national college baseball player of the year.

Hamburg is the second player from the MEAC listed as a semifinalist for the award since 2021 when former North Carolina Central University baseball standout Ryan Miller was in consideration.

Both Page and Hamburg were also recognized by Black College Nines as part of its Large School Division Elite list which is awarded to the top players in HBCU baseball this past season.

The entire list of NCBWA All-American:


Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
C Kevin Parada Georgia Tech 6-1 210 So. Pasadena, Calif.
1B Ivan Melendez Texas 6-3 225 r-Jr. El Paso, Texas
2B Jace Jung Texas Tech 6-0 205 So. San Antonio, Texas
SS Peyton Graham Oklahoma 6-4 171 r-So. Waxahachie, Texas
3B Trey Lipscomb Tennessee 6-1 200 Sr. Frederick, Md.
3B Max Wagner Clemson 6-0 215 So. Green Bay, Wis.
OF Dylan Crews LSU 6-0 203 So. Longwood, Fla.
OF Chris Alleyne Maryland 5-10 190 r-Sr. Philadelphia, Pa.
OF Jacob Melton Oregon State 6-3 208 Jr. Medford, Ore.
OF Enrique Bradford Jr. Vanderbilt Ht. Wt. So. Hometown
OF Drew Gilbert Tennessee 5-9 185 Jr. Stillwater, Minn.
DH Tommy White NC State 6-0 242 Fr. St. Pete Beach, Fla.
UT Paul Skenes Air Force 6-6 235 So. Lake Forest, Calif.
SP Chase Burns Tennessee 6-4 205 Fr. Gallatin, Tenn.
SP Justin Campbell Oklahoma State 6-7 219 So. Simi Valley, Calif.
SP Chase Dollander Tennessee 6-3 192 So. Evans, Ga.
SP Cooper Hjerpe Oregon State 6-3 200 So. Capay, Calif.
SP Parker Messick Florida State 6-0 225 r-So. Plant City, Fla.
SP Austin Peterson Connecticut 6-6 234 Sr. Chesterton, Ind.
SP Drew Thorpe Cal Poly 6-4 190 So. Washington, Utah
RP Will Brian Eastern Kentucky 5-11 220 r-Jr. Brandenburg, Ky.
RP Jack Gowen Georgia 6-1 220 Sr. Folkston, Ga.
RP Tyler Guilfoil Kentucky 6-4 215 Jr. Lexington, Ky.
RP Tristan Stevors Texas State 6-4 220 Sr. Castroville, Texas
RP Andrew Walters Miami 6-4 220 So. Palm Bay, Fla.
Second Team: C Daniel Susac, Arizona, So.; 1B Sonny DiChiara, Auburn, Sr.; 1B Matt Coutney, Old Dominion, Sr.; 2B Hogan Windish, UNCG, Jr.; 2B Max Grant, Canisius, So.; SS Tanner Schobel, Virginia Tech, So.; 3B Jacob Berry, LSU, So.; OF Wyatt Langford, Florida, So.; OF Andy Garriola, Old Dominion, Sr.; OF Carlos Contreras, Sam Houston, Jr.; OF Justin Boyd, Oregon State, So.; OF Jack Hurley, Virginia Tech, So.; DH Tyler Johnson, Coastal Carolina, Sr.; UT Devin Ortiz, Virginia, Gr.; UT Shemar Page, Grambling, Gr.; SP John Michael Bertrand, Notre Dame, Gr.; SP Drew Beam, Tennessee, Fr.; SP Jonathan Brand, Miami (Ohio), Sr.; SP Tanner Hall, Southern Miss, So.; SP Thomas Harrington, Campbell, So.; SP Gabriel Hughes, Gonzaga, So.; SP Alex Williams, Stanford, Sr.; RP Blake Burkhalter, Auburn, Jr.; RP Jackson Kelley, Mercer, Jr.; RP William Privette, Charleston, So.; RP Carter Spivey, East Carolina, Jr.; RP Redmond Walsh, Tennessee, Gr.
Third Team: C Brendan Tinsman, Wake Forest, r-Jr.; C Nick Cimillo, Rutgers, Fr., r-Jr.; 1B Tim Elko, Ole Miss, Sr.; 1B Michael Carico, Davidson, So.; 2B RJ Yeager, Mississippi State, Sr.; SS Zach Neto, Campbell, r-So.; 3B Jake Gelof, Virginia, So.; OF Jason Hinchman, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; OF Murphy Stehly, Texas, r-Sr.; OF Dylan Rock, Texas A&M, Gr.; OF Alex Tappen, Virginia, Gr.; OF Jake Thompson, Oklahoma State, Gr.; OF Guy Lipscomb, Belmont, So.; DH Noah Ledford, Georgia Southern, r-Jr.; DH David McCabe, Charlotte, So.; UT Jordan Hamberg, Coppin State, So.; SP Jonathan Cannon, Georgia, Jr.; SP Brett Gillis, Portland, Jr.; SP Pete Hansen, Texas, r-So.; SP Drue Hackenberg, Virginia Tech, Fr.; SP Rhett Lowder, Wake Forest, So.; SP Carson Palmquist, Miami, So.; SP Jason Savacool, Maryland, So.; RP Trey Braithwaite, West Virginia, Sr.; RP Cade Denton, Oral Roberts, So.; RP Cameron Foster, McNeese, r-Sr.; RP Ben Joyce, Tennessee, r-Jr.; RP Trevin Michael, Oklahoma, Gr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *