Black College Nines Announces Post Season Individual Awards

BCN Elites smooth copy

Fifty-two Historically Black College and University (HBCU) baseball players have been named to the 2016 Black College Nines’ Elite Teams along with selections for Player, Pitcher and Coach of the Year honors. First and second team selections were made in both the Large School Division (made up of NCAA Division I schools) and Small School Division (made up of NCAA Divisions II and Division III schools as well both NAIA and Independent schools).

Selections were made based upon research and statistical information provided by coaching staffs and their sports information directors. Player, Pitcher and Coach of the Year awards were voted upon by Black College Nines staff and members of the national media.

The 2016 HBCU National Baseball Player, Pitcher, and Coach of the Year:

Large School Division

Santana AA Camacho AA Melendez AA
Player of the Year – Jesus Santana (Jackson State University)
Pitcher of the Year – Joe Camacho (Alabama State University)
Coach of the Year – Mervyl Melendez (Alabama State University)

Small School Division

Randel AA Falbo AA Johnson AA
Player of the Year – Javion Randle (Jarvis Christian College)
Pitcher of the Year – Joshua Falbo (West Virginia State University)
Coach of the Year – Reginald Johnson (Edward Waters College)


Duane Lewis AA

Special Service Award

Sports Information Director of the Year – Duane Lewis (Alabama State University)





Large School Division 

First Team

1B  Jesus Santana  (Jackson State)
2B  Alex Wong  (Florida A&M)
3B  Ray Hernandez  (Alabama State)
SS  Cornelius Copeland (Jackson State)
OF  Dillon Cooper  (Alabama State)
OF  Olajide Oloruntimilehin (Texas Southern)
OF  Dylan Dillard  (Florida A&M)
C    Adan Ordonez  (North Carolina A&T)
DH  Clay Middleton (Bethune-Cookman)
P    Joe Camacho   (Alabama State)
P    Tyler Howe  (Alabama State)
P    Matt Outman  (Norfolk State)
RP  Robert Pearson  (Texas Southern)

Second Team

1B   Danny Rodriguez  (Bethune-Cookman)
2B   Larry Barraza   (Grambling State)
3B   Daniel Barnett  (Grambling State)
SS  Justin Lee  (Norfolk State)
OF  John Kraft  (Coppin State)
OF  Carlos Qrtiz  (North Carolina Central)
OF  Carlos Ocasio  (Alabama State)
C    Michael Cruz  (Bethune-Cookman)
DH  Ty Russell   (Alabama A&M)
P    Larry Romero  (Texas Southern)
P    Miguel Yrigoyen  (Jackson State)
P    Devin Sweet  (North Carolina Central)
RP  Devin Repine  (Univ Maryland Eastern Shore)

Small School Division 

First Team
1B   Gasberth Pacheco  (Harris-Stowe State)
2B   Trayvis Patterson (West Virginia State)
3B   Rashad Bivens  (Claflin University)
SS   Ricky Caruajal (Paine College)
OF   Nick Vital  (Stillman)
OF   Andres Alburjas  (Harris-Stowe State)
OF   Javion Randle   (Jarvis Christian College)
C     Anthony Ruiz  (Talladega College)
DH   Aaron Williams  (Miles College)
P     Kewayne McCray  (Stillman)
P     Austin Pate  (Miles College)
P     Joshua Falbo  (West Virginia State)
RP  Curtis Johnson  (West Virginia State)

Second Team

1B   Keland Smith  (Miles College)
2B   Paul Garcia  (Huston-Tillotson)
3B   Cody Fleck  (Albany State)
SS   Reginald Rogers  (Claflin University)
OF   David White Jr.  (Benedict College)
OF   Trent Porter  (West Virginia State)
OF   Josh McDaniel  (Stillman)
C     Michael McNamara (Winston Salem State)
DH   Jose Duran  (Selma University)
P     Tyler Hall  (West Virginia State)
P     Emmanuel Pantaleon (Wiley College)
P     Frederick Belz  (Edward Waters College)
RP   Richard Edwards  (Edward Waters College)

For individual stats of Elite Team members, chick here.

1 comment for “Black College Nines Announces Post Season Individual Awards

  1. Hope Major League Baseball Scouting Bureau has Javion Randle on the radar for draft day 2016. What he has done in four years at Jarvis Christian, led the nation in hitting NAIA best .480 batting average, 96 hits in 56 games played this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *