Black College Nines Announces 2018 HBCU Baseball Posts Season Individual Awards

Fifty-six Historically Black College and University (HBCU) baseball players have been named to the 2018 Black College Nines’ Elite Teams along with selections for Player, Pitcher, Freshman and Coach of the Year honors. This year we have added a sportsmanship award to the player who exhibits class on and off the field. First and second team selections were made in both the Large School Division (made up of NCAA Division I schools) and Small School Division (made up of NCAA Divisions II and Division III schools as well as schools in both the NAIA and USCAA).

Selections were made based upon research and statistical information provided by coaching staffs and their sports information directors. Player, Pitcher and Coach of the Year awards were voted upon by Black College Nines staff and members of the national media.

The 2018 HBCU National Baseball Player, Pitcher, Freshmen and Coach of the Year: 

Large School Division   







Player of the Year – Kamren Dukes (Texas Southern University)

Pitcher of the Year – Darrius Wright (Alabama State University)

Freshman of the Year – Marcos Castilllo (Coppin State University)

Coach of the Year – Michael Robertson (Texas Southern University)

Small School Division 


Player of the Year – Sergio Chil (Florida Memorial University)

Pitcher of the Year – Steven Wells (Harris Stowe State University)

Freshman of the Year – Kelin Washington (Edward Waters College)

Coach of the Year – Florentino Burgos (Florida Memorial University)

Special Service Award


Sports Information Director of the Year – Damian Alexander (Florida Memorial University)

Sports Information Director of the Year – Bryan Harvey (Bethune Cookmen University)

Sports Information Director of the Year – Matthew McCann (University of Maryland Eastern Shore)

Sportsmanship Award on and off the field – Kamren Dukes (Texas Southern University)






Black College Nines Founder Award – Harold Michael Harvey (Special Reporter on SIAC and SWAC tournaments) and Michael Coker (Lead Contributing Reporter)


Large School Division

First Team

1B   Rafael Ramirez (Grambling State)
2B   Gaudencio Lucco (Texas Southern)
3B   Ray Hernandez (Alabama State)
SS   Marshawn Taylor (Grambling State)
UTL Wesley Reyers (Jackson State)
OF  Kamren Dukes  (Texas Southern)
OF  Dawnoven Smith (North Carolina A&T)
OF  Joseph Estrada  (Alabama State)
C    Jacky Miles, Jr.  (Florida A&M)
DH  Richard Ortiz  (Grambling State)
P   Darrius Wright  (Alabama State)
P   Aron Solis  (Texas Southern)
P   Kevin Perez  (Jackson State)
RP Jose Tirado  (Jackson State)

Second Team

1B  Christian Sanchez  (Texas Southern)
2B  Corey Joyce  (North Carolina Central)
3B  Jesus Santana  (Jackson State)
SS  Derek Lohr  (Coppin State)
UTL  Cole Garey  (Delaware State)
OF  Justin Hayes  (Norfolk State)
OF  Carter Williams  (North Carolina Central)
OF  Sergio Esparza  (Arkansas Pine Bluff)
C  Stephen Vidal  (Jackson State)
DH  Carson McGregory  (Alabama A&M)
P Jonathan Figueroa  (North Carolina Central)
P  Anthony Maldonado (Bethune Cookman)
P Carlos Lopez  (Alcorn State)
RP Corey Treyes  (Coppin State)

Small School Division

First Team

1B  Marcus Hardy  (Selma)
2B  Julian White  (Virginia State)
3B  Aron Harris  (Virginia State)
SS  Jordan Pontious  (Edward Waters)
UTL  Leonardo Saldivar   (Harris Stowe State)
OF  Riliani Familia  (Albany State)
OF  Jahleel Sewer  (Virginia State)
OF  David White, Jr.  (Benedict)
C  Josh McDaniel  (Stillman)
DH  Sergio Chil  (Florida Memorial)
P  Steven Wells  (Harris Stowe State)
P  Dylan Johnson  (Miles)
P  Mims Lige, Jr.  (Tougaloo)
RP  Anthony Nettles  (Clark Atlanta)

Second Team

1B  Jacob Bisharat  (Miles)
2B  Cole Lepchitz  (Stillman)
3B  Reeves Brashear  (Miles)
SS  D’Anthony Morrow  (Tougaloo)
UTL  Ricky Butts  (Selma)
OF  Randy Norris  (Winston Salem State)
OF  Darrell Langston  (Claflin)
OF  Cameron Phelts  (Texas College)
C  Mims Lige, Jr.  (Tougaloo)
DH  Wyatt Reid  (Edward Waters)
P  Jonathan Radomski  (Edward Waters)
P  Christian Rivera  (Florida Memorial)
P  Michael Reddick  (Albany State)
RP  Tanner Muvich  (Bluefield State)

To view 2018 stats of the All-Elite team, click here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *