Black College Nines Announces 2021 HBCU Baseball Post Season Elites and Individual Awards

Fifty-seven HBCU baseball players have been named to the Black College Nines’ Elite teams for the 2021 season. Additional recognition is given to our Player, Pitcher, Freshman and Coach of the Year, as well as to Sports Information Directors. We also honor individuals for sportsmanship and dedication for outstanding support, commitment and devotion to HBCU college baseball. First and second team selections were made in both the Large School Division (made up of NCAA Division I schools) and Small School Division (made up of NCAA Division II as well as schools in both the NAIA and USCAA).

Selections were made based upon statistical information, mid-season reports including research provided by Black College Nines and both coaching staffs and their sports information directors. Player, pitcher and coach of the year awards were voted upon by Black College Nines and members of the national media.

The 2021 HBCU National Baseball Player, Pitcher, Freshmen and Coach of the Year: 

Large School Division (NCAA Division I)







Player of the Year – Trenton Jamison (Alabama State University)

Pitcher of the Year – Ryan Miller (North Carolina Central University)

Freshman of the Year – Jordan Hamberg (Coppin State University)

Coach of the Year – Omar Johnson (Jackson State University)

Small School Division (NCAA Division II/NAIA) 







Player of the Year – Tanner Brandon (Bluefield State College)

Pitcher of the Year – Juwan Fitch (Xavier University of Louisiana)

Freshman of the Year – Dreylin Holmes (Rust College)

Coach of the Year – Adrian Holloway (Xavier University of Louisiana)

Special Service Award  







Sports Information Director of the Year – Jonathan Duren (North Carolina Central University) 

Sports Information Director of the Year – Matthew Michalec (Norfolk State University)

Sports Information Director of the Year – Jarome Travis (Alabama State University)

Sports Information Director of the Year – Ed Cassiere (Xavier University Louisiana)

Dedication Award






Advocate for the Historical Black College and University community – Edwin Prentiss Hill (BCSG360)


Large School Division (NCAA Division I)

First Team

1B Chenar Brown (Jackson State University)

2B Tristin Garcia  (Alcorn State University)

3B Ty Hill (Jackson State University) 

SS Cristopher DeGuzman (Alabama State)

UTL Oscar Ponce (Texas Southern University)

OF Chandler Dillard (Jackson State University) 

OF Trenton Jamison (Alabama State University)

OF Jared Weber  (Florida A&M University)

C Hunter May (Alabama State University)

DH Santiago Garcia (Alabama State University) 

P Ryan Miller (North Carolina Central University) 

P Anthony Becerra (Jackson State University) 

P Kelyn Fox (Florida A&M University) 

RP Chandler Fitzgerald (Delaware State University) 


Second Team

1B Connor Walker (Coppin State University)

2B Alsander Womack (Norfolk State University) 

3B Trey Paige (Delaware State University)

SS Wesley Reyes (Jackson State University)

UTL Dustin Baber (Norfolk State University)

OF Justin Williams (North Carolina A&T University)

OF Justin Rodriguez (North Carolina A&T University)

OF LJ Bryant (Florida A&M University)

C Ty Hanchey (Norfolk State University)

DH Brayden Johnson (Prairie View A&M University) 

P Austin Vernon (North Carolina Central University)

P Breon Pooler (Alabama State University) 

P Nikelle Galatas (Jackson State University) 

RP Steven Davila (Jackson State University) 

Freshman Jordan Hamberg (Coppin State University)


Small School Division (NCAA Division II/NAIA)

First Team

1B Matt Harrison (West Virginia State University)

2B Marcus Judd (Edward Waters College)

3B Hilman Truss (Lincoln University) (PA)

SS Jeffry Roldan (Talladega College) 

UTL Jose Fulgencio (Xavier University Louisiana)

OF Dreylin Holmes (Rust College)

OF Tanner Brandon (Bluefield State College)

OF Maurice LaFon (Harris Stowe State University)

C Tristan Rodriguez (Xavier University Louisiana)

DH Matthew Kline (West Virginia State University) 

P Ethan Lauchart (West Virginia State University) 

P Juwan Fitch (Xavier University University)

P Malik Barrington (Albany State University)

RP Jamal Allen (Xavier University Louisiana)


Second Team

1B Arias Wander (Talladega College)

2B Andrew Stone (West Virginia State University)

3B Phillip Woullard (Savannah State University) 

SS Zach Elias (Lane College)

UTL Willie Hines (Lincoln University) (PA)

OF Elias Beltre (Lincoln University) (PA)

OF Damani Thomas (Edward Waters College)

OF Coco Simoneaux (Xavier University Louisiana)

C Will Crooker (Harris Stowe State University)

DH Cayden Frankie (Edward Waters College) 

P Christian Harkey (Savannah State University)

P Nigel Mayfield (Xavier University Louisiana)

P Nick Loftis (West Virginia State University)

RP Jacob Bradley West Virginia State University) 

For Elite team members’ individual stats, click here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *