Black College Nines Announces 2020 HBCU Baseball Individual Awards and Elites

The Historically Black College and University (HBCU) baseball season was cut short by COVID-19 (Coronavirus). Both intercollegiate governing bodies, the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) along with each HBCU conference presidents voted unanimously to cancel all remaining baseball activities including conference championships for the 2020 spring season.

This was a tough decision knowing the impact it would have on the players who compete for their baseball programs and the conference. The number one priority is the health, safety and well-being of the student-athletes, coaching staff, administrators and the community.

At Black College Nines (BCN), we have decided in light of the health crisis, we will continue to honor the many players that perform in the classroom, on the field, in the batter’s box and on the mound. With that in mind, we think the right thing to do is honor their hard work and achievements.

The Fifty-seven HBCU baseball players have been named to the 2020 Black College Nines’ Elite Teams Shortened Season Individual Awards along with selections for Player, Pitcher, Freshman and Coach of the Year honors as well as a Sports Information, Sportsmanship and Dedication honor to the head coach(s) for their outstanding support, commitment and devotion to college baseball. First and second team selections were made in both the Large School Division (made up of NCAA Division I schools) and Small School Division (made up of NCAA Division II as well as schools in both the NAIA and USCAA).

Selections were made based upon short season statistical information, mid-season reports including research provided by both coaching staffs and their sports information directors. Player, Pitcher and Coach of the Year awards were voted upon by Black College Nines and members of the national media.

The 2020 HBCU National Baseball Player, Pitcher, Freshmen and Coach of the Year:

Large School Division







Player of the Year – Travis Cole (Alcorn State University)

Pitcher of the Year – Jacknell Guzman (Alabama State University)

Freshman of the Year – Roderick Coffee (Texas Southern University)

Coach of the Year – Jose’ Vazquez (Alabama State University)

Small School Division







Player of the Year – Matt Janocik (Harris Stowe State University)

Pitcher of the Year – Austin Rotramel (Wiley College)

Freshman of the Year – Dane Peterson (West Virginia State University)

Coach of the Year – Patrick Barbour (Lane College)

Special Service Award 








Sports Information Director of the Year – Romanda Noble-Watson (Claflin University) Third Straight Year

Sports Information Director of the Year – Bob Heller (Lincoln University PA)

Sports Information Director of the Year – Andrew Glover (Wiley College)

Sportsmanship Award – Cameron Phelts (Texas College)

Dedication Award


Serving on the NCAA Regional Advisory Committee – Head Coach Sean Loyd (West Virginia State University)





Serving on the NCAA Division I Baseball Regional Advisory Committee for the Atlantic Region – Head Coach Sherman Reed (Coppin State University)





Serving the American Baseball Coaches Association as chair of its Diversity committee – Head Coach Kerrick Jackson (Southern University)





Large School Division

First Team

1B Oscar Ponce (Texas Southern University)
2B Trista Garcia (Alcorn State University)
3B Humberto Maldonado (University of Arkansas Pine Bluff)
SS Wesley Reyes (Jackson State University)
UTL Vinny Bailey (North Carolina Central University)
OF Roderick Coffee (Texas Southern University)
OF Travaris Cole (Alcorn State University)
OF Jared Weber (Florida A&M University)
C Ty Hanchey (Norfolk State University)
DH Luis DeLeon (North Carolina Central University)
P Jacknell Guzman (Alabama State University)
P Jacob Snyder (Southern University)
P Josh Hancock (Florida A&M University)
RP Fernando Diaz, Jr. (Alabama A&M University)

Second Team

1B Jaylyn Williams (Jackson State University)
2B Chris Prentiss (Jackson State University)
3B Trenton Jamison (Alabama State University)
SS Dustin Baber (North Carolina A&T University)
UTL Jabronski Williams (Alabama State University)
OF Brian Cordell (University Maryland-Eastern Shore)
OF Equon Smith (Jackson State University)
OF Marcos Castillo (Coppin State University)
C Colin Smith (North Carolina Central University)
DH Rafael Ramirez (Grambling State University)
P Kyle Smith (Prairie View A&M University)
P Austin King (Alabama State University)
P Ethan Chavis (North Carolina A&T University)
RP Breon Pooler (Alabama State University)

Small School Division

First Team

1B Matt Janocik (Harris Stowe State University)
2B Carlos Callazo (Texas College)
3B Ahmad Ali (Benedict College)
SS Keishawn Clark (Lane College)
UTL Colt Dozier (Stillman College)
OF Cameron Phelts (Texas College)
OF Wilkin Louis (Talladega College)
OF Brandon O’Conner (Benedict College)
C Chance Egnor (Kentucky State University)
DH Jordan Smith (Lane College)
P Austin Rotramel (Wiley College)
P Jeremiah Hardy (Virginia State University)
P Dashawn Hureskin (Kentucky State University)
RP David Padilla (Talladega College)

Second Team

1B Adren Thompson (Kentucky State University)
2B Chris O’Neal (Lane College)
3B Luis Lamarche (Savannah State University)
SS Luis Santiago (Wiley College)
UTL Zach Elias (Lane College)
OF Tanner Brandon (Bluefield State College)
OF Anthony Elias (Paine College)
OF Davie Pound (Harris Stowe State University)
C Chandler Matthews (Jarvis Christian College)
DH DeDe Cole (Harris Stowe State University)
P Christian Rivera (Florida Memorial University)
P Brady Bibbs (Kentucky State University)
P Michael Rounds (Paine College)
P Andrew Datcher (Miles College)
RP Dane Peterson (West Virginia State University)

For Elite team members’ short season individual stats, click here

1 comment for “Black College Nines Announces 2020 HBCU Baseball Individual Awards and Elites

  1. Congratulations BCN honorees! Thank you BCN for taking the initiative to recognize each honorary for their hard work and commitment to the sport. S. Pitts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *