Black College Nines Announces 2023 HBCU Baseball Large School Post Season Elites and Individual Awards  

Twenty-Eight HBCU baseball players have been named to the Black College Nines’ Elite teams in our large school division for the 2023 season. Additional recognition is given to our Player, Pitcher, Freshman and Coach of the Year, as well as to Sports Information Directors. First and second team selections were made in the large school division (made up of NCAA Division I baseball programs).

Selections were made based upon statistical information, mid-season reports including research provided by Black College Nines and both coaching staffs and their sports information directors. Player, pitcher and coach of the year awards were voted upon by Black College Nines and members of the national media.

The 2023 HBCU National Baseball Player, Pitcher, Freshmen and Coach of the Year: 






Player of the Year – Trevor Hatton (Grambling State University)

Pitcher of the Year – Omar Melendez (Alabama State University)

Freshman of the Year – Nick Gnardellis (Delaware State University)

Coach of the Year – Jose Vazquez (Alabama State University)


Special Service Award  






Sports Information Director of the Year – Justin Odendhal (University Maryland Eastern Shore)

Sports Information Director of the Year – Duane Lewis (Jackson State University)

Sports Information Director of the Year – Brian Howard (Norfolk State University)

Special Service Promoting HBCU Baseball – Bo Carter (National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association)


Large School Division (NCAA Division I)

First Team

INF Jack Hay (Alabama State University)

INF Ty Hill (Jackson State University)

INF Trey Page (Delaware State University)

INF Cameron Bufford (Grambling State University)

UTL Kalum Banks (Alcorn State University)

OF Brantley Cutler (University Maryland Eastern Shore)

OF Trevor Hatton (Grambling State University)

OF Hylan Hall (Bethune Cookman University)

C Nick Gnardellis (Delaware State University)

DH Janmikell Bastardo (Florida A&M University)

P Omar Melendez (Alabama State University)

P Nolan Santos (Bethune Cookman University)

P Abraham DeLeon (Texas Southern University)

RP Joan Gonzalez (Bethune-Cookman University)

Second Team

INF Tommy Easley (Alabama A&M University)

INF Cameron Bufford (Grambling State University)

INF Keylon Mack (Grambling State University)

INF Alexander Olivo (Texas Southern University)

UTL Jordan Hamberg (Coppin State University)

OF Cory King (Alabama State University)

OF Ty Hanchey (Florida A&M University)

OF Ian Matos (Alabama State University)

C Boris Pena (Bethune Cookman University)

DH Jayden Sloan (Alabama State University)

P Conner Rudy (Grambling State University)

P Nickolas Wilson (Southern University)

P Hunter Viets (Florida A&M University)

RP Xavier Meachem (North Carolina A&T University)


To view Black College Nines’ Small School All-Elites and individual awards, please go here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *