Black College Nines Announces 2024 HBCU Baseball Small School Post Season Elites and Individual Awards

Thirty two HBCU baseball players have been named to the Black College Nines’ Small School Elite teams for the 2024 season. Additional recognition is given to our Player, Pitcher, Freshman and Coach of the Year, as well as to Sports Information Directors and Service Awards. First and second team selections were made in the Small School Division (made up of NCAA Division II, National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics, and the National Christian College Athletic Association baseball programs).

Selections were made based upon statistical information, mid-season reports including research provided by Black College Nines and both coaching staffs and their sports information directors. Player, pitcher and coach of the year awards were voted upon by Black College Nines and members of the national media.

The 2024 HBCU National Baseball Player, Pitcher, Freshman and Coach of the Year:






Player of the Year – Miguel Oropeza (Talladega College)

Pitcher of the Year – Samuel Guadamuz (Talladega College)

Freshman of the Year – Keyon Guillory (Wiley University)

Coach of the Year – Marcos Dominguez (Talladega College)

Special Service Award 

Sports Information Director of the Year – Andrew Glover (Wiley University)

Sports Information Director of the Year – Habtom Keleta (Florida Memorial University)

Special Service Promoting HBCU Baseball – Bo Carter (National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association)

Special Service to HBCU Baseball and the Black College World Series – Robert Holloway (Southwestern Athletic Conference/Gulf Coast Athletic Conference)

Small School Division (NCAA Division II, NAIA and NCCAA)

First Team

INF Miguel Oropeza (Talladega College)

INF Jonathan Logsdon (Albany State University)

INF Tahir Meulens (Bluefield State University)

INF Ryan Ready (Wiley University)

UTL Luke Addison (Albany State University)

OF Jhan Carlos Javier (Wiley University)

OF Torry Jones (Edward Waters University)

OF Kendal Spencer (Savannah State University)

C Brandon Leroy (Miles College)

DH Luis Ruiz (Florida Memorial University)

P Samuel Guadamuz (Talladega College)

P Brady Davis (Albany State University)

P Alex Kanipe (Bluefield State University)

P Keyon Guillory (Wiley University)

P Zach Powell (Bluefield State University)

RP Camden Matthews (Miles College)

Second Team

INF Jose Santiago (Talladega College)

INF Deionte Norris (Xavier University of Louisiana)

INF Mike Huber (West Virginia State University)

INF Tahraun Hammond (Bluefield State University)

UTL Jeden Greenidge (Lincoln University, PA)

OF Timothy Whiteman (Morehouse College)

OF Jaylen Greene (Morehouse College)

OF Noah Moritz (Bluefield State University)

C Armando Jackson (Talladega College)

DH Eddie Velazquez (Talladega College)

P Landon Kiefer (Albany State University)

P Anthony Bayyat (Edward Waters University)

P Jose Franco (Talladega College)

P Alejandro Gonzalez Moreno (Jarvis Christian University)

P Chris Morris (West Virginia State University)

RP Nick Rodriguez (Wiley University)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *