Four Benedict Tigers Named To Black College Nines Preseason All-Elite Team

Four Benedict College baseball players have been named to the Black College Nines Elite 2021 preseason team.

All four were named to the Small School Division First Team.

Outfielder Bradon O’Connor returns after being named to the 2020 Elite Team. O’Connor was leading NCAA Division II in stolen bases per game when the 2020 season was canceled. He had 25 stolen bases in 28 attempts in 11 games, for an average of 2.27 stolen bases per game. He was batting .439, which ranked third in the SIAC and 36th in Division II. He also ranked third in the SIAC in runs scored per game (1.18), first in the SIAC and 15th in Division II in doubles per game (0.55), and second in the SIAC in toughest to strike out.

Also named was third baseman Anthony Johnson. Johnson hit .441 in 10 games last season with three doubles and two home runs.

Starting pitcher Christian Moore went 2-0 last season with a 4.96 ERA and allowed opposing teams to hit just .153 off him on the mound. He struck out 18 in 16.1 innings pitched.

Relief pitcher Jorge Baez was 1-0 in seven appearances last season with a team-best 2.35 ERA.

Benedict is scheduled to start the 2021 season March 12.

Selections were made based upon research and statistical information provided by Black College Nines with assistance from baseball programs’ coaching staffs and sports information directors.

Black College Nines is a website that covers current and historical HBCU baseball news and is dedicated to preserving the legacy of black college and university baseball.

Small School Division
First Team

1B Matt Janocik Harris Stowe State
2B Chris O’Neal Lane
3B Anthony Johnson Benedict
SS Keishawn Clark Lane
UTL Treviz Brown Lane
OF Dom Lawson Kentucky State
OF Yunior Sanchez Florida Memorial
OF Bradon O’Conner Benedict
C Ron McGhee Tuskegee
DH Jordan Smith Lane
P Christian Moore Benedict
P Jeremiah Hardy Virginia State
P Dashawn Hureskin Kentucky State
RP Jorge Baez Benedict

Second Team

1B Kevin Russell Virginia State
2B Jace Wilson Kentucky State
3B Luis Lamarche Savannah State
SS Colt Dozier Stillman
UTL Zach Elias Lane
OF Tanner Brandon Bluefield State
OF Kevin Givhan Kentucky State
OF Davie Pound Harris Stowe State
C Max Guadalupe Lincoln (Pa.)
DH DeMarcus Reid Talladega
P Dom Lawson Kentucky State
P Brady Bibbs Kentucky State
P Savontae Williams Tuskegee
P Andrew Datcher Miles
RP Dane Peterson West Virginia State
RP David Padilla Talladega

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.