Two HBCU Pitchers Named to NCBWA 2019 Stopper of the Year List

Florida A&M sophomore Jeremiah McCollum of Florida A&M and Southern University senior Connor Whalen have been named to the 2019 Stopper of the Year Midseason Update Watch List, as announced by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

The publication named 45 of college baseball’s top relief pitchers to its mid season watch list for the 15th annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award.

To date, Florida A&M’s Jeremiah McCollum has maintained a 3.00 earned run average in 18 appearances with 10 saves and 18 strikeouts.

Connor Whalen sports a 0.00 earned run average in 14 games for Southern University recording seven saves while striking out 16 batters.

There are 23 conferences represented on the list with the Southeastern Conference leading the way with seven relief pitchers. The Big Ten, Mountain West Conference and Pac-12 each have three on the list, while 30 of the 45 on the watch list are upperclassmen.

The watch list includes:

Garrett Action Jr. Illinois (Big Ten)
Jaime Arias So. Fresno State (MWC)
Evan Brabrand Sr. Liberty (A-Sun)
Trey Braithwaite So. Navy (Patriot)
Tyler Brown So. Vanderbilt (SEC)
Parker Caracci R-Jr. Ole Miss (SEC)
Jackson Cofer Sr. UNLV (MWC)
Matt Cronin Jr. Arkansas (SEC)
Fineas Del Bonta-Smith Sr. San Jose State (MWC)
J.C. Flowers Jr. Florida State (ACC)
Jacob Gilmore So. Illinois State (MVC)
Cole Gordon Sr. Mississippi State (SEC)
Nick Grabek So. Fairfield (MAAC)
Zack Greene Sr. South Alabama (Sun Belt)
Cody Greenhill So. Auburn (SEC)
Andrew Gross Sr. UT Arlington (Sun Belt)
Connor Hinchiffe Sr. La Salle (Atlantic 10)
Alek Jacob So. Gonzaga (WCC)
Stephen Jones Sr. Samford (SoCon)
Kasey Kalich So. Texas A&M (SEC)
Connor Knutson Jr. Portland (WCC)
Jack Little So. Stanford (Pac-12)
Grant Leonard Jr. Iowa (Big Ten)
Brandon Lewis Sr. Abilene Christian (Southland)
Chris Lincoln Jr. UC Santa Barbara (Big West)
Reeves Martin Jr. New Orleans (Southland)
Jeremiah McCollum So. Florida A&M (MEAC)
Hunter McGarry Jr. FGCU (A-Sun)
Jack Mulholland Jr. Oregon State (Pac-12)
Nathan Ocker Sr. Charleston (CAA)
Holden Powell So. UCLA (Pac-12)
Taylor Rashi Sr. UC Irvine (Big West)
Jason Ruffcorn Jr. Oklahoma (Big 12)
Kieran Shaw Jr. Harvard (Ivy League)
Zach Schneider Sr. Florida Atlantic (C-USA)
Aaron Schunk Jr. Georgia (SEC)
Braxton Smith Sr. Louisiana Tech (C-USA)
Carson Spiers Jr. Clemson (ACC)
Chad Sykes Sr. UNC Greensboro (SoCon)
Jonah Ulane So. Kansas (Big 12)
Fred Villarreal Jr. Houston (American)
Jacob Wallace Jr. UConn (American)
Willie Weiss Fr. Michigan (Big Ten)
Connor Whalen Sr. Southern (SWAC)
Chris Wright Jr. Bryant (NEC)

2019 NCBWA Stopper of the Year key dates:
• Wed., April 24: Midseason Watch List
• Wed., June 5: Stopper of the Year finalists announced
• Sat., June 15: Stopper of the Year winner announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.