Two HBCU Baseball Players Named To The NCBWA 2020 Preseason Stopper of The Year Watch List

HBCU Baseball right-handers Corey Treyes of Coppin State and Leon Davidson of North Carolina A&T have been named to the 2020 Stopper of the Year Preseason Watch List, as announced by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

Treyes and Davidson are two of 70 relievers named to the list for the award, which is given annually to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball.

Treyes, a senior, had 8 saves last season to go along with a 2.73 earned run average in 26.1 innings pitched, giving up 23 hits, 13 runs, 8 earned runs, 5 walks and 31 strikeouts. Treyes also sported an opponents .233 batting average against. He had 19 appearances in the MEAC Conference last season.


Davidson, last season recorded 4 saves to go along with a 0.66 earned run average, 41.1 innings pitched, 21 hits issued, 4 runs, 3 earned runs, 9 walks allowed and 26 strikeouts. Davidson had 34 appearances in the MEAC Conference last season.

This is Coppin State second Stopper of the Year finalist since it was first awarded in 2005.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation’s top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I, II and III Players of the Week and Division I, II and III Players of the Year.

2020 NCBWA Stopper of the Year key dates:
• Mon., Feb. 10: Preseason Watch List
• Wed., April 22: Midseason Watch List
• Wed., June 3: Stopper of the Year finalists announced
• Sat., June 13: Stopper of the Year winner announced

Garrett Acton, Illinois Hayden Harris, Georgia Southern RJ Petit, Charleston Southern
Andy Archer, Georgia Tech Michael Hobbs, St. Mary’s Holden Powell, UCLA
Brett Ayer, JMU Bo Hofstra, Purdue Colten Rendon, Winthrop
Bret Barnett, South Dakota State Bruce Hudson, Radford Jason Ruffcorn, Oklahoma
Ian Bedell, Missouri Alek Jacob, Gonzaga John Sakowski, Creighton
Clayton Beeter, Texas Tech Lance Johnson, Troy Corey Sawyer, Seton Hall
Trey Braithwaite, Navy Brett Kerry, South Carolina Shay Schanaman, Nebraska
Kyle Brennan, Belmont Michael Kirian, Louisville Casey Schmitt, San Diego State
Tyler Brown, Vanderbilt Kent Klyman, N.C. State Blake Schriever, CSUN
Colby Bruce, Charlotte Joe Kruszka, Albany Carson Spiers, Clemson
Alec Burleson, East Carolina Grant Leonard, Iowa Hunter Stanley, Southern Miss
Burl Carraway, Dallas Baptist Austin Love, North Carolina Erik Tolman, Arizona State
Leon Davidson, North Carolina A&T Hunter McGarry, Florida Gulf Coast Corey Treyes, Coppin State
Theron Denlinger, Bradley Michael McGreevy, UC Santa Barbara Jonah Ulane, Kansas
Will Dion, McNeese Reid McLaughlin, BYU Tommy Vail, Notre Dame
Chris Farrell, William & Mary Mason Mellott, Penn State Derek Wakeley, Delaware
Daniel Federman, Miami (Fla.) Austin Miller, Ole Miss Redmond Walsh, Tennessee
Jonathan Finchner, Louisiana Tech Bryce Miller, Texas A&M Ryan Webb, Georgia
Devin Fontenot, LSU Eddie Miller, North Florida Willie Weiss, Michigan
Danny Garcia, Stetson Landry Moore, Campbell Will Wheeler, USC Upstate
Jacob Gilmore, Illinois State Will Nowak, Hartford Nick Wohlbold, UT Martin
Thomas Girard, Duke Steve Oullette, UC Davis Corley Woods, Jacksonville State
Cody Greenhill, Auburn Andrew Papp, Appalachian State Caleb Wurster, Connecticut
Chase Haney, Florida State
Click here for .pdf version of release with complete player statistics

1 comment for “Two HBCU Baseball Players Named To The NCBWA 2020 Preseason Stopper of The Year Watch List

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.