Two HBCU Baseball Players Make The 2021 Dick Howser Trophy Semifinal List

The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) has released its list of semifinalists for the 2021 Dick Howser Trophy. The voting was done by the NCBWA. The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting. Two baseball players from Historically Black College and University (HBCU) are finalist. 

Pitcher Ryan Miller of North Carolina Central and infielder Trenton Jamison of Alabama State made the semifinal list. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 10th, with this years winner being unveiled on the MLB Network. 

Ryan Miller was chosen Black College Nines’ HBCU Baseball Pitcher of The Year and a member of BCN Elite First Team for the 2021 season. Miller was 10-0 on the mound this season and has the second-most wins in the nation. He leads the MEAC in ERA (2.24), which is a regular-season record at NCCU. He has held conference opponents to a .195 batting average.

Jamison, chosen as Black College Nines’ Player of The Year and also a member of the BCN First Team Elite this year, led the team in hitting at .390 in 40 games. He recorded 64 hits, scoring 44 runs and driving in 43, with an on-base percentage of .460 with 16 walks. He also recorded 22 extra-base hits, including 12 doubles and eight home runs.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball’s most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser’s life.

Tanner Allen, OF, Mississippi State Tyler Hardman, 1B, Oklahoma Ryan Miller, SP, NC Central
Jacob Berry, DH, Arizona Nick Jones, RP, Georgia Southern Matheu Nelson, C, Florida State
Ryan Bliss, SS, Auburn Jace Jung, 2B, Texas Tech Connor Norby, 2B, East Carolina
Enrique Bradfield Jr., OF, Vanderbilt Niko Kavadas, 1B, Notre Dame Carson Palmquist, RP, Miami
Wes Clarke, DH, South Carolina Austin Knight, 3B, Charlotte Kumar Rocker, SP, Vanderbilt
Henry Davis, C, Louisville Kevin Kopps, RP, Arkansas Jake Rucker, 3B, Tennessee
Cade Doughty, 3B, LSU Bennett Lee, C, Tulane Phillip Sikes, OF, TCU
Christian Encarnacion-Strand, 3B, Oklahoma St. Jack Leiter, SP, Vanderbilt Landon Sims, RP, Mississippi State
Judd Fabian, OF, Florida Tyler Locklear, 3B, VCU Brady Slavens, 1B, Arkansas
Jaden Fein, OF, San Diego State Ethan Long, OF, Arizona State Trey Sweeney, SS, Eastern Illinois
Jonathan Fincher, SP, Louisiana Tech Ty Madden, SP, Texas Trenton Jamison, 3B, Alabama State
Christian Franklin, OF, Arkansas Mason McWhorter, OF, Georgia Southern Carter Trice, 2B, Old Dominion
Will Frizzell, OF, Texas A&M Ivan Melendez, DH, Texas Gavin Williams, SP, East Carolina
Dominic Hamel, SP, Dallas Baptist Matt Mikulski, SP, Fordham Aaron Zavala, OF, Oregon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.