Top HBCU Baseball Talent Selected For Upcoming All-Star Game

The HBCU All-Star Game, presented by Minority Baseball Prospects (MBP), will host its inaugural 2021 HBCU All-Star Game to showcase top-tier collegiate talent coming out of Historical Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).

The teams have been selected by current and former HBCU coaches and players. Each selected player will have the opportunity to compete against the best in the game, and show Major League scouts that HBCU ball players have what it takes to advance to the next level.

With the annual Major League Draft being moved this year to July (Sunday, July 11, 2021 – Tuesday, July 13, 2021) from its more recent traditional date in early-to-mid June, the all-star game organizers are taking advantage of the extra time to expose these talented HBCU ballplayers to professional baseball scouts.

This initiative is also being undertaken by Major League Baseball.  In November of 2020, the then highly successful baseball coach at HBCU’s Southern University, Kerrick Jackson, was hired to lead the newly formed MLB Draft League.  The league will be a collegiate summer baseball league beginning play this year and will serve as a showcase for top draft-eligible prospects leading up to each summer’s MLB draft. Since his hiring, Jackson has been in regular contact with HBCU coaches seeking ballplayers for his draft league who fit this description.

Screen Shot 2021-04-07 at 2.36.29 PM.png

The Hoover Met Stadium

Hoover Met Stadium, 508 Stadium Trace Pkwy, Hoover, Alabama 35244, will be the host site of the HBCU All-Star Game on Monday and Tuesday, June 6-7, 2021. 

DATES: (Central Time Zone)

  • Monday’s Day 1 schedule includes a combine at 10 AM – 4 PM and Home Run Derby at 7 PM. 
  • Day 2 HBCU All-Star Game Time 6:30 PM.

HBCU Large School Roster: 

AJ Gardner, Alabama State, OF

Trenton Jamison, Alabama State, CIF

Jabronski Williams, Alabama State, OF

Jose Fernandez, Alcorn, LHP

Tristin Garcia, Alcorn, MIF

Kacy Higgins Jr, Arkansas Pine Bluff, OF

Tony Horn, Arkansas Pine Bluff, RHP

Zyon Avery, Bethune Cookman, CIF

Lawrence Bryant, FAMU, OF

Kelyn Fox, FAMU, LHP

Jason Alvarez, Grambling, RHP

Cameron Bufford, Grambling, MIF

Jahmoi Percival, Grambling, OF

Cameron Phelts, Grambling, OF

Chenar Brown, Jackson State, CIF

Chandler Dillard, Jackson State, OF

Nikelle Galatas, Jackson State, RHP

Jeremiah Hill, Jackson State, CIF

James Deloatch, Norfolk State, LHP

Alsander Womack, Norfolk State, MIF

Xavier Meachem, NC A&T, RHP

Gianni Smith, NC A&T, RHP

Brayden Johnson, Prairie View A&M, OF

Victor Mendoza Prairie View A&M, RHP

Jerome Bohannon, Southern, LHP

Taj Porter, Southern, C

Tremaine Spears, Southern, OF

Kamron Fields, Texas Southern, RHP

Oscar Ponce, Texas Southern, CIF

HBCU Small School Roster: 

Terence Thomas II, Albany State, OF

Anthony Johnson, Benedict, CIF

Charles Jackson, Claflin, RHP

Lorenzo Peterson, Clark Atlanta, RHP

Zach Elias, Lane, MIF

Chris O’Neal, Lane, MIF

Zavian Caldwell, Miles, RHP

Derrick Odom, Morehouse, OF

Sieas Elliot, Rust, C

DJ Franklin, Savannah State, OF

Enrico Peele, Savannah State, RHP

Oracio De Leon, Talladega, RHP

Jeffry Roldan, Talladega, MIF

D’Anthony Morrow, Tougaloo, MIF

Jalan Daniels, Tuskegee, RHP

Joshua Lewis, Tuskegee, OF

Ronald McGhee, Tuskegee, C

Blair Frederick, Xavier (La.), LHP

Antonio Rodriguez, Xavier (La.), MIF

Tristan Rodriguez, Xavier (La.), C

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.