Norfolk State’s Alex Mauricio On National Olerud Two-Way Player of The Year Watch List

The College Baseball Hall of Fame Foundation recently announced its 2017 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Watch List. 25 players representing schools “large and small” are on the watch list.  The list features Historically Black College and University (HBCU) Norfolk State University’s Alex Mauricio in the class of 2017 Olerud Watch List.

The award is named after former Washington State University and major league baseball standout John Olerud who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher and was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The award is given to a candidate who is a two-way player and has made an impact for his team and must have 20 innings pitched or six saves.

The 2017 season marks the second time in Mauricio’s collegiate career that he has been named to the watch list for the John Olerud Award.

This season on the hill, in eight starts and relief appearances, Mauricio is 3-3, has a 3.66 earned run average, in 46.2 innings pitched, allowed 19 earned runs with 46 strikeouts. Also, he has started in 29 of 31 games played this season with a .371 batting average (which leads the Spartans), 33 hits, 10 doubles, 3 triples, 1 homerun, 17 runs batted in, a .584 slugging percentage and 8 stolen bases in 9 attempts. As well, Mauricio has been voted MEAC Conference Player of the Week in week 2 and week 9.

The Watch List Includes:

Nick Anderson, Jr. Virginia Tech, ACC
Daniel Brumbaugh, Jr. Richmond, Atlantic 10
Mike Cassala, So. Jacksonville, Atlantic Sun
Teddy Cillis, Jr.Hofstra, Colonial
Jake Crawford, So. Furman, Southern
Chris Erwin, Sr. Kennesaw State, Atlantic Sun
Ray Gaither, Fr. Dallas Baptist, Missouri Valley
Chris Gau, Soph. Jacksonville, Atlantic Sun
Luis Gonzalez, Jr. New Mexico, Mountain West
Bryan Haberstroh, Sr. NJIT, Atlantic Sun
Sean Labsan, Sr. Florida Atlantic, Conference USA
Jack Labosky, Jr. Duke, ACC
Adam Haseley, Jr. Virginia, ACC
Anthony Herrera, Sr. Louisiana-Monroe, Sun Belt
Andrew Hinckey, Sr. Central Conn. St., Northeast
Jake Mangum, So.Mississippi St, SEC
Alex Mauricio, Jr. Norfolk St, MEAC
Brendan McKay, Jr. Louisville, ACC
John McMillon, Fr.Texas Tech, Big 12
Jake Meyers, Jr. Nebraska, Big Ten
C.J. Pickering, Sr.UT-San Antonio, Conference USA
Alex Robles, Sr.Austin Peay, Ohio Valley
Hunter Seay, Fr. Baylor, Big 12
Alex Troop, So. Michigan St., Big Ten
Matt Wallner, Fr. Southern Miss, Conference USA


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.