Black College Nines’ 2019 HBCU Pre-Season All-Elite Team

Fifty-two Historically Black College and University (HBCU) baseball players have been named to the 2019 Black College Nines’ Elite Pre-Season baseball teams. First and second team selections were made in both the Large School Division (made up of NCAA Division I schools) and Small School Division (made up of those in the NCAA Divisions II and III schools as well as NAIA and USCAA schools).

Selections were made based upon research and statistical information and information provided by coaching staffs.

The 2019 HBCU Pre-Season Elite Team:

Large School Division (DI)

First Team
1B Rafael Ramirez (Grambling State University)
2B Corey Joyce (North Carolina Central University)
3B Perry Hunt (North Carolina A&T University)
SS Derek Lohr (Coppin State University)
UTL Alsander Womack (Norfolk State University)
OF Justin Hayes (Norfolk State University)
OF Dawnoven Smith (North Carolina A&T University)
OF Marcus Castillo (Coppin State University)
C Richard Ortiz (Grambling State University)
DH Raul Hernandez (Jackson State University)
P Darrius Wright (Alabama State University)
P Aron Solis (Texas Southern University)
P Anthony Maldonado (Bethune Cookman University)
RP Corey Treyes (Coppin State University)

Second Team
1B Christian Sanchez (Texas Southern University)
2B Tyler PaPorte (Southern University)
3B Miguel Rivera (Delaware State University)
SS Nate Sterijevski (Bethune Cookman University)
UTL Wesley Reyes (Jackson State University)
OF Dezmond Chumley (Jackson State University)
OF Carter Williams (North Carolina Central University)
OF Noel Cheneau (Alabama State University)
C Brett Maxwell (Florida A&M University)
DH Nazier Mcllwain (Coppin State University)
P Jahmon Taylor (Coppin State University)
P Michael Johnson (North Carolina A&T University)
P Tim Luth (North Carolina A&T University)
RP Santiago Hungria III (Grambling State University)

Small School Division (DII NAIA)

First Team
1B Marcus Hardy (Selma University)
2B Julian White (Virginia State University)
3B Darrius England (Voorhees College)
SS D’Anthony Morrow (Tougaloo College)
UTL Ricky Butts (Selma University)
OF Cameron Phelts (Texas College)
OF Jahleel Sewer (Virginia State University)
OF Cam Stark (Ketucky State University)
C Cole Parks (Winston Salem State University)
DH Cole Danielson (Harris Stowe State University)
P Steven Wells (Harris Stowe State University)
P Derrick Sylve (Selma University)
P Michael Reddick (Albany State University)
RP Jamar Hinton (Virginia State University)

Second Team
1B Hunter Babineaux (Texas College)
2B Joey Macaluso (Benedict College)
3B Josiris Del Orbe Martinez (Texas College)
SS Wellington Guzman (Winston Salem State University)
UTL Kyle Smith (Texas College)
OF Austin Pulcher (Jarvis Christian College)
OF Raymond Guerrero (Florida Memorial University)
OF Jordan Ransom (Kentucky State University)
C Jacob Bisharat (Miles College)
DH Wyatt Reid (Edward Waters College)
P Christian Rivera (Florida Memorial College)
P Roman Oliu (Albany State University)
P Anthony Nettles (Clark Atlanta University)
RP Phillip Jones (Jarvis Crristian College)

For a link to the 2018 final individual statistics for each member of the 2019 pre-season Elite team, click here.

1 comment for “Black College Nines’ 2019 HBCU Pre-Season All-Elite Team

  1. Really!

    Who reviewed the data that this elite list of HBCU baseball players was selected from to reach these conclusions. For instance, how in the name of all that is competitive about college baseball, that Elvin McElveen, at Clafin did not make either the first or second team at First Base? Asking for a baseball nerd.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *