Alabama State’s Jack Hay Named to NCBWA 2024 Preseason NCAA DI All-America Team

Alabama State University Hornet slugger Jack Hay has been named a third team 2024 NCBWA NCAA Division I Preseason All-American by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) on February 6, 2024. The honor is given annually to the top NCAA Division I baseball players. The senior first-baseman had 85 hits in 56 games, 10 home runs, and 61 runs driven in. Hay finished with a .385 batting average.

At the end of the 2023 season, Jack Hay was named to the Black College Nines’ Large School All-Elite team.

Noteworthy – Former Texas Southern University outfielder Daalen Adderly, who transferred to Loyola Marymount this year, was also selected as a third team member.

In all, there are 45 different schools and 16 DI conferences represented on the 2024 DI All-America teams, which also have individuals honored from 22 teams ranked in various preseason polls.

Previous NCBWA postseason All-America teams from 1996-2023 have featured the likes of several Dick Howser Trophy presented by The Game Headwear recipients: RHP Paul Skenes of LSU, 3B Kris Bryant of San Diego, P Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State, 1B Mark Teixeira of Georgia Tech, RHP Mark Prior of USC, SS-2B Rickie Weeks of Southern U., 3B Alex Gordon of Nebraska, P David Price of Vanderbilt, C Buster Posey of Florida State, catcher Mike Zunino of Florida, OF Andrew Benintendi of Arkansas and 1B-P Brendan McKay of Louisville, among others.

Pos. First Team School Ht. Wt. Cl. Hometown
C Kevin Bazzel Texas Tech 6-1 205 So. Rockwall, Texas
1B Nick Kurtz Wake Forest 6-6 235 Jr. Lancaster, Pa.
2B Travis Bazzana Oregon State 6-0 199 Jr. Sydney, Australia
SS JJ Wetherholt West Virginia 5-10 190 Jr. Mars, Pa.
3B Tommy White LSU 6-0 236 Jr. St. Pete Beach, Fla.
OF Charlie Condon Georgia 6-5 216 r-So. Marietta, Ga.
OF Braden Montgomery Texas A&M (Stanford) 6-2 220 Jr. Madison, Miss.
OF Ethan Petry South Carolina 6-4 235 So. Land O’ Lakes, Fla.
OF Nolan Schubart Oklahoma State 6-5 233 So. Durand, Mich.
DH Derek Bender Coastal Carolina 6-1 235 Jr. Murrells Inlet, S.C.
UT Jac Caglianone Florida 6-5 250 Jr. Tampa, Fla.
SP Drew Beam Tennessee 6-4 207 Jr. Murfreesboro, Tenn.
SP Brody Brecht Iowa 6-4 235 Jr. Ankeny, Iowa
SP Josh Hartle Wake Forest 6-5 200 Jr. King, N.C.
SP Dominic Niman Kentucky (Central Connecticut) 6-3 220 Gr. West Hartford, Conn.
SP Trey Yesavage East Carolina 6-4 225 Jr. Boyertown, Pa.
RP Brandon Neely Florida 6-3 210 Jr. Seville, Fla.
RP Tyson Neighbors Kansas State 6-2 220 Jr. Royse City, Texas
RP Fran Oschell III Duke 6-7 230 Jr. Phoenixville, Pa.
RP james Tallon Duke 6-5 195 So. Arlington, Va.
Second Team: C Caden Bodine, Coastal Carolina, So.; C Ike Irish, Auburn, So.; 1B Ethan Anderson, Virginia, Jr.; 1B Anthony Martinez, UC Irvine, So.; 2B Chase Mora, Texas State, So.; 3B Billy Amick, Tennessee (Clemson), Jr.; 3B Carson DeMartini, Virginia Tech, Jr.; SS Wehiwa Aloy, Arkansas (Sacramento State), So.; SS Griff O’Ferrall, Virginia, Jr.; OF Lawson Harrill, Campbell, r-Sr.; OF Anthony Donofrio, UNC, Gr. (Quinnipiac); OF Cam Cannarella, Clemson, So.; OF Porter Brown, Texas, Sr.; OF Mike Sirota, Northeastern, Jr.; DH Alex Lane, Northeastern, r-Sr.; DH Slade Wilks, Southern Miss, Sr.; UT Justin Murray, Houston, Sr.; UT Payton Tolle, TCU (Wichita State), Jr.; SP Chase Burns, Wake Forest (Tennessee), Jr.; SP Reese Dutton, Kansas, (USC Upstate), Sr.; SP Sebastian Gongora, Louisville, (Wright State), Sr.; SP Kole Klecker, TCU, So.; SP Hagen Smith, Arkansas, Jr.; RP Austin Anderson, Oregon, Sr.; RP Hudson Barrett, UC Santa Barbara, So.; RP Joshua Romero, CSUN, Sr.; RP AJ Russell, Tennessee, So.
Third Team: C Cole Messina, South Carolina, Jr.; C Jacob Cozart, NC State, Jr.; 1B Gavin Kash, Texas Tech, So.; 1B Sam Kulasingam, Air Force, Sr.; 2B Christian Moore, Tennessee, Jr.; 2B Jacob Starling, East Carolina, Sr.; SS Jake Rainess, Houston, (Maine), Sr.; SS Anthony Silva, TCU, So.; 3B Brandon Eike, VCU, Sr.; 3B Jay Thomason, Air Force, Sr.; OF Daalen Adderly, Loyola Marymount (TX Southern), Jr.; OF Treyson Hughes, Ole Miss, (Mercer), Jr.; OF Seaver King, Wake Forest (Wingate), Jr.; OF Jace LaViolette, Texas A&M, So.; OF Shane Lewis, Troy, Jr.; OF Cam Maldonado, Northeastern, So.; DH Ryan Cesarini, Saint Joseph’s, Jr.; DH Jack Hay, Alabama State, Sr.; UT Cole Mathis, Coll. of Charleston, Jr.; SP Matt Ager, UC Santa Barbara, Jr.; SP Aiven Cabral, Northeastern, So.; SP Andrew Healy, Duke, So.; SP Lebarron Johnson Jr., Texas, r-Jr.; SP Michael Massey, Wake Forest, Jr.; SP Mason Molina, Arkansas, (Texas Tech), Jr.; RP Ben Abeldt, TCU, So.; RP Micah Ashman, Utah, Jr.; RP Chris Lotito, Jacksonville, r-Jr.; RP Noah Manning, Troy, Sr.; RP Mason Moore, Kentucky, Jr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *