Six Jackson State Tigers Tabbed With Preseason Honors




Jackson State Sports Information


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southwestern Athletic Conference released its 2020 Preseason Baseball honors on Tuesday afternoon as the Tigers had six student athletes named to the conferences first and second preseason teams.

Jackson State’s Nikelle Galatas was also recognized as the Preseason Pitcher of the Year after finishing the 2019 campaign ranked seventh in the conference in earned run average (4.13 ERA), fifth in opposing batter average (.237), first in innings pitched (93.2), second in batters struck out (74), and fourth in total wins (6).

The first-team was represented well by Jackson State as Jaylyn Williams was selected as the first team all-conference third baseman, Wesley Reyes at shortstop, Equon Smith in the outfield and Chris Prentiss as the designated hitter.

Nikelle Galatas and Mario Lopez were each named to the second-team with Galatas being named as a starting pitcher and Lopez as a reliever.

Jackson State was picked to finish second in the Eastern division receiving 70 votes behind Alabama State with 77 votes. The Tigers were picked to finish third in the entire conference behind Alabama State and Southern.

A complete listing of the 2020 SWAC Baseball Preseason honors can be found below.

2020 Preseason All-SWAC Baseball Teams

Preseason Player of the Year
Santiago Garcia, Alabama State

Preseason Pitcher of the Year
Nikelle Galatas, Jackson State

Preseason First Team
C – Santiago Garcia, Alabama State
1B – Nick Kreutzer, Arkansas-Pine Bluff
2B – Alex Martinez, Prairie View A&M
3B – Jaylyn Williams, Jackson State
SS – Wesley Reyes, Jackson State
DH – Chris Prentiss, Jackson State
OF – Equon Smith, Jackson State
OF – Brandon Rembert, Alcorn State
OF – Tyson Thompson, Texas Southern
SP – Elijah Finney, Southern
SP – Bryan Delgado, Grambling State
RP – Aaron Barkley, Mississippi Valley State

Preseason Second Team
C – Tyler Gordon, Prairie View A&M
1B – Oscar Ponce, Texas Southern
2B – Tristin Garcia, Alcorn State
3B – Nic Garza, Texas Southern
SS – Christopher DeGuzman, Alabama State
DH – Angel Jimenez, Alabama State
OF – Jahmoi Percival, Grambling State
OF – Xavier Jefferson, Prairie View A&M
OF – Ian Bailey, Grambling State
SP – Nikelle Galatas, Jackson State
SP – Eli Finney, Southern
RP – Mario Lopez, Jackson State

Eastern Division Predicted Order of Finish
Alabama State, 77 points
Jackson State, 70 points
Alabama A&M, 48 points
Alcorn State, 43 points
Mississippi Valley State, 35 points

Western Division Predicted Order of Finish
Southern, 75 points
Grambling State, 68 points
Texas Southern, 47 points
Prairie View A&M, 28 points
Arkansas-Pine Bluff, 22 points

Post navigation