Parker, Westbrook Powers Claflin Past Francis Marion


NCAA DII/Independent/PBC/Baseball


Claflin Sports Information


Florence, S.C. – Clyde Parker belted out a grand slam to drive in five runs, while Cleveland Westbrook tossed a complete game, as the Claflin University Panthers upended Francis Marion University, 11-6, in the Pepsi Pop-Off Series at Sparrow Stadium on Saturday (Feb. 2).

The win pushes Claflin record to 2-0 and provided the program it’s first-ever win over Francis Marion. The Panthers entered the game 0-16 against the Patriots.

The perfect early season start is the program second best since joining the NCAA Division II. The Panthers opened the 2007 season at 4-0.

Francis Marion is now 2-1 on the season.

Parker, who ended the game with three hits, connected on a Josh Bobrowski pitch and drove it over the left center fence, capping off a five-run first-inning for the Panthers.

After the Patriots scored four runs in their half of the first followed by a run in the second, tying the contest at 5-5, Claflin erupted for three runs in both the third and fourth innings to regain the lead, 11-5.

Francis Marion added its last run of the game in the fifth to trail 11-6.

Both teams finished the game with 10 hits and three errors.

Westbrook, 1-0, held the Francis Marion offense scoreless in six of the nine innings. He struck out a career-best 15 batters, surpassing a previous high of 12 which he set last season against Paine College.

Westbrook walked just two batters in 41 batters faced.

Bobrowski, who worked two innings and gave up eight runs on five hits, took the loss for the Patriots.

Other top hitters for Claflin included Garardic Dobb at 3-for-4 with three runs scored and two RBIs; and Nicholas Johnson with a hit and 2 RBIs. Malik Sadler and Elliott Melton added an RBI each for the Panthers.

Francis Marion was led by Gage Taylor with a hit and 3 RBIs.

Claflin will make its home debut on Monday (Feb. 4) against Lincoln Memorial University in a double-header at Historic Mirmow Field in Orangeburg, S.C. The first contest is scheduled for 1 p.m. followed by the second at approximately 4 p.m.

Post navigation