NCCU’s Alex Dandridge Signs Professional Baseball Contract With Roswell Invaders





NCCU Sports Information


DURHAM, N.C. – Former North Carolina Central University pitcher Alex Dandridge joined a growing list of Eagle pitchers who have reached the professional ranks after he signed a contract to pitch for the Roswell Invaders of the Pecos League on Wednesday, June 29.

Dandridge is the sixth hurler from NCCU to sign a professional contract in the modern era, joining Andrew Vernon who became the program’s first MLB draft pick when he was selected by the Milwaukee Brewers, as well as Gavin Guarrera, Michael Romano, Ruben Rios, Jr., and Eric Kimber.

“Honestly, I’m just really excited to see this next chapter of life unfold,” Dandridge said of the new opportunity ahead of him.  He joins a Roswell team who is already in season, and is currently 29-12 which is good for second in the Southern Division of the Pecos League.

“This is something that Alex has worked for since he came to NCCU three years ago,” NCCU baseball head coach Jim Koerner said of Dandridge.  “We are proud and excited that he is going to be able to continue his career at the professional level.  It also goes to show that we are doing a good job developing players for the next level.  Alex will be the third pitcher in the last two years to play professionally and the sixth pitcher we’ve had since 2013.”

A native of Arlington, Texas, Dandridge was named Second Team All-State by NCCSIA and was also a Third Team All-MEAC selection after he carried 66.2 innings this year over 13 starts and 14 appearances, the second most innings thrown on the staff.  He racked up 58 strikeouts with a 4-3 record and a 4.73 ERA.

Dandridge finished his three-year career in high standing of modern era career records at NCCU, including a top-10 ERA at 4.88, and finished second in career wins with 10 and innings pitched with 199.1.  He also finished third in career strikeouts with 138.

The Roswell Invaders are a member of the 10-team Pecos League which began in 2011, and the Invaders have won the title three times in 2011, 2013 and 2015.

Post navigation