NCCU Baseball’s Sweet Named To NCBWA Freshman All-American Team


Devin Sweet


NCCU Sports Information

LYNCHBURG, Va. – Devin Sweet of North Carolina Central University is one of 34 standout freshmen college baseball players from every part of the country to be selected to the 2015 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team, the organization announced Monday (June 8).

“This is a tremendous honor for Devin,” said NCCU head baseball coach Jim Koerner.  “We are all very proud of his accomplishments.  We are looking forward to his continued success and growth as a person and baseball player.”

A native of Greensboro, North Carolina and graduate of Southeast Guilford High School, Sweet earned NCBWA Freshman All-America Second Team honors as a utility player after starting as a pitcher, third baseman and designated hitter for the Eagles this season.

Sweet finished his rookie campaign with a team-best 2.93 earned run average in 15 appearances on the mound with 10 starts, earning a 4-2 record to top NCCU. In 67.2 innings pitched, he recorded a team-high 54 strikeouts while holding opponents to a .226 batting average.

At the plate, he led the Eagles with a .343 batting average, going 12-for-35 with three doubles, six RBI and four runs scored.

For a complete listing of the 2015 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Freshman All-American Team visit

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association’s official Web site,

NCBWA 2015 Freshman All-America Team

First Team

C             Matt Whatley, Oral Roberts

1B           KJ Harrison, Oregon State

2B           Kyle Davis, West Virginia

3B           Carl Stajduhar, New Mexico

SS           Jake Bivens, Michigan

OF          Reed Rohlman, Clemson

OF          Stuart Fairchild, Wake Forest

OF          Keston Hiura, UC Irvine

DH          JJ Schwarz, Florida

UT          Brendan McKay, Louisville

SP           Alex Lange, LSU

SP           Brian Brown, N.C. State

SP           Drew Rasmussen, Oregon State

RP           Jesse Stallings, LSU

RP           Joe Ingle, East Carolina

RP           Dylan Moore, Louisiana-Lafayette

Second Team

C             Cory Voss, New Mexico

1B+        Ryan Stekl, Canisus

1B+        Gabe Snyder, Wright State

2B           Kevin Merrell, South Florida

3B           Trevor Ezell, Southeast Missouri

SS           Matt Reardon, Florida Gulf Coast

OF          Cal Stevenson, Nevada

OF          Michael Giglotti, Lipscomb

OF          Ryan Brown, College of Charleston

DH          Austin Edens, Samford

UT+       Devin Sweet, North Carolina Central

UT+        Sean Watkins, Loyola Marymount

SP           Michael Baumann, Jacksonville

SP           Chris Mathewson, Long Beach St.

SP           Griffin Canning, UCLA

RP           Mitch Hickey, Oregon State

RP           Kyle Nelson, UC Santa Barbara

RP           Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt


+ – tie


Post navigation