Miles Baseball Puts Four On Preseason Team


Miles Four on pre-season team



Miles Sports Information


Miles placed four players on the Preseason All-Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference team, which was recently announced by the league office. Second baseman Damion Williams and outfielder Ryan Bargery were First Team selections while pitcher Austin Pate and infielder/pitcher Xavius Burden were placed on the Second Team.

Williams, Bargery and Pate were all Second Team All-SIAC selections last season. Bargery, a senior from Memphis, Tenn., lead Miles in stolen bases, was second in runs scored and doubles, fourth in average and fifth in RBI. Slashed .449/.500/.565 in conference games with a team-high 21 RBI. Williams, a senior from East Brewton, Ala., had a .438 on-base percentage thanks to a team-high 17 hit-by-pitches and 16 walks and was fourth on the team in runs scored.

Pate, a senior from Hueytown, Ala., was 4-0 with a 3.79 ERA in five starts (team-high four complete games), striking out 28 in 35 2/3 innings while allowing opponents to hit just .250 against him. Burden. who spent most of his time at third base last season, has moved over full time to first base. He hit .336 with 33 RBI and 37 runs scored in 2016 and is already off to a good start this season, hitting .333 with a RBI at the plate and a save in the win over Stillman in the season opener.

The four Miles players named were tied with Benedict for the most on this year’s preseason team.

First Team

SP Evan Krenz Paine JR
C Jahziel Morel Paine SR
1B Jason Howell Clark Atlanta SO
2B Damion Williams Miles SR
SS Reginald Rogers Claflin JR
3B Malcolm Seabrooks Clark Atlanta SR
OF David White, Jr. Benedict JR
OF Ryan Bargery Miles SR
OF Michael Druhan Spring Hill SR
UTL Ricky Carvajal Paine SR
RP Jordan Johnson Clark Atlanta SO

Second Team

SP Austin Pate Miles SR
C Joel Manzano Benedict SO
1B Xavius Burden Miles JR
2B Bryan Armstead Morehouse JR
SS Armando Valentin Benedict JR
3B Rashad Bivens Claflin JR
OF Ulysses Fluellen Spring Hill SR
OF Andrew McCoy Benedict JR
OF Jared Maner Morehouse JR
UTL Lyndale Morley Claflin JR
RP Christian Bahlinger Spring Hill SR

Post navigation