MEAC Announces 2016 Baseball All-Conference Honors





MEAC Sports Media


NORFOLK, Va. – Florida A&M infielder Dylan Dillard was named the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Baseball Player of the Year, the conference announced on Tuesday.Danny Rodriguez, of Bethune-Cookman, was selected Rookie of the Year, while Norfolk State’s Matt Outman earned Pitcher of the Year honors. Florida A&M’s Jamey Shouppe received Coach of the Year accolades.

All awards are voted on by the conference’s head baseball coaches and sports information directors.

Dillard started 48 games and batted .335 in 167 at-bats. He finished the season with 56 hits, including eight doubles, six triples, six home runs, 53 runs batted in and 46 runs scored. He led the conference in RBIs and triples. Dillard was a two-time MEAC Player of the Week honoree.

Rodriguez, a two-time MEAC Rookie of the Week honoree, led the Wildcats in RBIs (40). He recorded 60 hits, including nine doubles and seven home runs, with 29 runs scored. Defensively, he notched a .988 fielding percentage.

Outman, the 2015 Pitcher of the Year and 2016 Preseason Pitcher of the Year, appeared in 12 games and registered seven wins, including five shutouts, in 79.0 innings pitched. He led the conference in innings pitched, batters struckout looking (30) and wins. He ranks second in the MEAC in earned run average (2.62) and runs allowed (26).

Shouppe earned Coach of the Year honors after leading the Rattlers to a 19-5 conference mark and 30-19 overall, along with clinching the number one seed from the southern division in the upcoming 2016 MEAC Baseball Championship. This season marks Florida A&M’s first 30-win season since 2003.

Joining Dillard and Outman on the first team are Jonathan Mauricio (NSU), Andrew Vernon (NCCU), Alex Mauricio (NSU), Clay Middleton (B-CU), Brian Davis (FAMU), Alec Wong (FAMU), Ben Ellzey (FAMU), Milton Rivera (NCAT), Nathan Bond (B-CU), Carlos Ortiz (NCCU) and Michael Cruz (B-CU).

The 2016 MEAC Baseball Championship tournament gets underway Thursday, May 19 beginning at 12 p.m. at Arthur W. Perdue Stadium in Salisbury, Maryland. A complete tournament bracket can be found on

2016 Baseball All-MEAC Teams
As voted on by the conference’s head baseball coaches and sports information directors
Player of the Year: Dylan Dillard, Florida A&M
Rookie of the Year: Danny Rodriguez, Bethune-Cookman
Pitcher of the Year: Matt Outman, Norfolk State
Coach of the Year: Jamey Shouppe, Florida A&M

First Team

Pos. Name School Class Ht. Wt. Hometown
P Matt Outman Norfolk State r-Sr. 6-3 210 Chesapeake, Va.
P Jonathan Mauricio Norfolk State Jr. 6-2 175 Midlothian, Va.
RP Andrew Vernon North Carolina Central Sr. 6-4 240 Raleigh, N.C.
RP Alex Mauricio Norfolk State So. 6-0 175 Midlothian, Va.
C Clay Middleton Bethune-Cookman r-Jr. 6-0 205 Oviedo, Fla.
1B Brian Davis Florida A&M So. 5-10 195 Pensacola, Fla.
2B Alec Wong Florida A&M Sr. 5-6 160 Rockledge, Fla.
3B Ben Ellzey Florida A&M Jr. 6-0 205 Ocala, Fla.
SS Milton Rivera North Carolina A&T State So. 5-9 175 Humacao, Puerto Rico
OF Nathan Bond Bethune-Cookman Sr. 6-2 195 Orlando, Fla.
OF Dylan Dillard Florida A&M Gr. 6-1 205 Kissimmee, Fla.
OF Carlos Ortiz North Carolina Central Jr. 5-9 197 Cleveland, Ohio
UTL Michael Cruz Bethune-Cookman Jr. 5-11 210 Aguadilla, Puerto Rico

Second Team

Pos. Name School Class Ht. Wt. Hometown
P Ricky Page Florida A&M Sr. 5-11 185 Ocala, Fla.
P Tyler Norris Bethune-Cookman So. 6-1 160 Coral Springs, Fla.
RP Joseph Calamita Bethune-Cookman So. 6-0 175 Lake Worth, Fla.
RP Michael Parmentier Norfolk State So. 6-0 170 Suffolk, Va.
C Adan Ordonez North Carolina A&T State So. 5-7 185 Clermont, Fla.
1B Danny Rodriguez Bethune-Cookman Fr. 6-3 240 Pembroke Pines, Fla.
2B Mike Escanilla Maryland Eastern Shore Sr. 5-7 150 Waldorf, Md.
3B Ellington Hopkins North Carolina Central Jr. 5-6 174 Lansing, N.Y.
SS Tom Prospero North Carolina Central Jr. 6-0 180 Batavia, N.Y.
OF Austin Bentley Delaware State So. 5-11 205 Waldorf, Md.
OF Denathan Dukes Norfolk State Jr. 6-2 180 Woodbridge, Va.
OF Marlon Gibbs Florida A&M r-Sr. 5-9 185 Orange Park, Fla.
UTL James Dey North Carolina Central Sr. 5-10 198 Charlotte, N.C.


Third Team

Pos. Name School Class Ht. Wt. Hometown
P Alex Dandridge North Carolina Central Sr. 6-3 204 Arlington, Texas
P Chase Jarrell Florida A&M Jr. 6-3 175 Winter Springs, Fla.
RP Devin Repine Maryland Eastern Shore r-Sr. 6-9 250 Salisbury, Md.
RP Ryan McCranie Savannah State Sr. 6-2 220 Covington, Ga.
C Jacky Miles, Jr. Florida A&M Jr. 6-0 205 Graceville, Fla.
1B Kyle Clary North Carolina A&T State Jr. 5-11 175 Lakewood, Calif.
2B Jonathan Moore Savannah State Sr. 6-1 160 Cairo, Ga.
3B Bryant Miranda Coppin State Jr. 5-10 175 Cidra, Puerto Rico
SS Demetrius Sims Bethune-Cookman r-So. 6-2 200 Ann Arbor, Mich.
OF George Dragon Coppin State Sr. 6-0 215 Ashtabula, Ohio
OF Zachary Marszal North Carolina Central Jr. 6-0 211 Cary, Ill.
OF Rakeem Quinn Bethune-Cookman Sr. 5-10 205 Port St. Joe, Fla.
UTL Kyle Vaas Norfolk State Sr. 6-0 205 Chesterfield, Va.

Post navigation