Florida A&M’s Jamey Shouppe Named MEAC Coach of The Year, Dylan Dillard Player of The Year


Famu Awards



FAMU Sports Information


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference announced on Tuesday that Florida A&M head coachJamey Shouppe has been named the MEAC Coach of the Year and Dylan Dillard the MEAC Player of the Year for the 2016 season. This is the second time (2014) in his first three seasons that Shouppe was tabbed as the MEAC Coach of the Year. Eight different Rattlers picked up All-MEAC honors as four were voted to the First Team All-MEAC, including three of the four starting FAMU infielders. It marks just the second time in program history that a FAMU player earned Player of the Year honors as Bennie Robinson earned the recognition in 2014.

Shouppe led FAMU to its first 30-win season since 2003 and the most conference wins (19) in program history. The Rattlers set conference win total records in back-to-back seasons and won the MEAC Southern Division outright in back-to-back seasons for the first time in program history. Shouppe is now just one win shy of tying the school record for most wins over any consecutive three-year period. FAMU, who has had a strong year offensively, ranks 2nd nationally in on base percentage (.429), 5th with a .327 team batting average, 6th in scoring (8.2 runs per game), 10th in total runs scored (402) and 22nd in total hits (547). The Rattlers also lead the MEAC in 11 offensive categories.

Dillard came to Florida A&M this season after spending the last three seasons at Jacksonville University. The Kissimmee, FL native started in 48 games for the Rattlers both at first base and in right field this season. After not having a triple in his career, he erupted for six triples in 2016 which ranks 14th nationally. Dillard currently ranks fifth all-time at FAMU with 53 RBI in a single season, which also leads the MEAC this season. He is currently batting .335 on the year with eight doubles, six triples and six home runs. He posts a .563 SLG%, 4-for-5 on stolen bases and is four RBI away from tying his three-year total at JU.

Four Rattlers picked up All-MEAC First Team honors, including three of the four FAMU infielders, and there were two FAMU players selected to both the Second and Third team All-MEAC. Brian Davis (1B), Alec Wong (2B), Ben Ellzey (3B) and Dillard (OF) were the four selected to the First Team, while Ricky Page (SP) and Marlon Gibbs (OF) were placed on the Second Team. Chase Jarrell (SP) and Jacky Miles, Jr. round out the eight Florida A&M All-MEAC selections as they nabbed Third Team honors.

For the FAMU players selected to the All-MEAC First Team, Ellzey leads the MEAC with a .393 batting average as there are five Florida A&M players represented in the top 10 in the MEAC in batting average. Ellzey has four home runs on the year, 10 doubles and is tied for 2nd on the team with 66 hits. Davis (.579) and Dillard (.563) rank 2nd and 3rd in the MEAC in SLG%, while Wong leads the conference with a .500 OB% and is 2nd with 54 runs scored. Wong is currently batting .377 and recorded a FAMU record 11 consecutive base hits this past week. Davis leads the team and is 5th in the MEAC with seven home runs, 2nd on the team with 14 doubles and is batting a career best .371.

Page, who was selected to the All-MEAC Second Team, was 4-1 in conference play and led the conference with a 1.58 ERA in conference games and a conference low eight earned runs allowed. He also set a personal best for strikeouts in a game in each of his last two outings, including nine this past Friday against North Carolina A&T. Page finished the conference schedule with 47 strikeouts to just 11 walks. Gibbs who was also named to the All-MEAC Second Team is batting .317 on the year with a career-high 15 doubles, which currently ranks tied for third all-time at FAMU in a single season. Gibbs is just behind Wong as he ranks 3rd in the MEAC with 53 runs scored. He had a special day on Saturday for Senior Day as he belted his first-career grand slam, in walk-off fashion, to end game one against NC A&T.

Jarrell and Miles, Jr. were selected to the All-MEAC Third Team. Jarrell was tied for 2nd in the conference with six wins on the year as he finished with a record of 6-3 in 60.0 innings pitched with 35 striketouts. Miles, Jr. ranked 8th in the MEAC with .497 SLG% and was tied for 4th with 41 RBI on the year. He also led the MEAC with a .411 batting average in conference games and raised his overall average by 137 points over the final two months of the regular season.

Listed below is the 2016 MEAC All-MEAC teams:

2016 All-MEAC Teams


Coach of the Year:   Jamey Shouppe, Florida A&M

Player of the Year:  Dylan Dillard, Florida A&M

Pitcher of the Year:  Matt Outman, Norfolk State

Rookie of the Year:   Danny Rodriguez, Bethune-Cookman


First Team

SP        Matt Outman                    Norfolk State

SP        Jonathan Mauricio            Norfolk State

RP        Andrew Vernon                North Carolina Central

RP        Alex Mauricio                   Norfolk State

C          Clay Middleton                Bethune-Cookman

1B        Brian Davis                    Florida A&M

2B        Alec Wong                     Florida A&M

3B        Ben Ellzey                      Florida A&M

SS        Milton Rivera                  North Carolina A&T

OF        Nathan Bond                  Bethune-Cookman

OF       Dylan Dillard                  Florida A&M

OF       Carlos Ortiz                     North Carolina A&T

UTL     Michael Cruz                   Bethune-Cookman


Second Team

SP        Ricky Page                   Florida A&M

SP        Tyler Norris                   Bethune-Cookman

RP       Joseph Calamita            Bethune-Cookman

RP       Michael Parmentier        Norfolk State

C         Adan Ordonez                North Carolina A&T

1B       Danny Rodriguez           Bethune-Cookman

2B       Mike Escanilla                Maryland Eastern Shore

3B       Ellington Hopkins           North Carolina Central

SS       Tom Prospero               North Carolina Central

OF       John Kraft                     Coppin State

OF       Denathan Dukes           Norfolk State

OF       Marlon Gibbs               Florida A&M

UTL     James Dey                    North Carolina Central


Third Team

SP        Alex Dandridge            North Carolina Central

SP        Chase Jarrell             Florida A&M

RP       Devin Repine               Maryland Eastern Shore

RP       Ryan McCranie            Savannah State

C         Jacky Miles, Jr.           Florida A&M

1B        Kyle Clary                    North Carolina A&T

2B        Jonathan Moore          Savannah State

3B        Bryant Miranda            Coppin State

SS        Demetrius Sims           Bethune-Cookman

OF        Austin Bentley             Delaware State

OF        Zachary Marszal         North Carolina Central

OF        Rakeem Quinn            Bethune-Cookman

UTL      Kylae Vaas                  Norfolk State

The Rattlers open the 2016 MEAC Baseball Tournament on Frinday, May 20, at 12:00 PM against the winner of the Delaware State/NC Central game, which is played at 3:30 PM on Thursday, May 19. All games are played at Perdue Stadium in Salisbury, MD.

Post navigation