Eight Tornadoes Named to A.I.I. All Conference Team




Talladega Sports Information


LAWRENCEVILLE, Ga. – The Association of Independent Institutions announced its yearly honors on Friday evening, selecting Georgia Gwinnett’s Jean Figueroa as the league’s Player of the Year.  Figueroa carried a .407 batting average through 45 games for the Grizzlies.  The Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, native drove in 43 runs on 70 hits, including 15 doubles, four triples, and two home runs all while slugging .576.

GGC’s Figueroa Headlines Winners at A.I.I. Baseball Tournament Banquet

Jason Hendrix | A.I.I. Director of Sports Information | 678-367-5179 | jhendrix@aiisports.com

Talladega (Ala.) took home three of the five individual awards on the day.  Kyle Chavez was named the A.I.I.’s Pitcher of the Year while teammates Wilkin Louis and Emilio Martinez were named the Freshman of the Year and Newcomer of the Year, respectively.  Chavez guided the Tornadoes to an 11-4 record in 16 appearances.  The side-winder struck out 94 batters in 91.1 innings of work while accumulating a 2.46 ERA.  Chavez also racked up five complete games and a shutout in the 2017 season.

GGC’s Brad Stromdahl was also awarded the A.I.I.’s Coach of the Year honor for a fourth consecutive season.

A league-best seven GGC players were named to the All-A.I.I. First Team, including infielders Brady Hamilton and Marcus McCorkle, catcher Brady Shoppe, outfielders Rodney Tennie and Figueroa, and pitchers Tyler Souris (starting) and Stone Kelly (reliever).

Both Talladega and Edward Waters (Fla.) posted three first-team selections.  Talladega’s Chavez, Louis, and designated hitter Broderick Johnson received first-team honors while Edward Waters was represented by pitcher Richard Edwards, shortstop Jordan Pontious, and outfielder Miguel Beltre.  Fisher’s Zachary LeBlanc, pitcher, and Jaime Villafane, catcher, along with Deshawn Pittman of Tougaloo (Miss.) and Dylan Heitz of College of the Ozarks (Mo.) rounded out first-team selections.

Georgia Gwinnett and College of the Ozarks led the way on the second team with each program posting three honorees.  Representing GGC was pitcher Trevor Bradley, designated hitter Kyler Timmerman, and utility player Deion Sellers. Ozarks’ Collan Thrasher, Jesse Fisher, and Austin Schweiss represented the Bobcats.  Talladega, Fisher, and Voorhees (S.C.) each claimed two second-team selections while Lincoln Christian (Ill.) and Central Christian (Kan.) rounded out the squad with one honoree apiece.Talladega placed three players on the A.I.I.’s Gold Glove team while Georgia Gwinnett and Edward Waters had two individuals apiece on the 2017 team.  Central Christian and Lincoln Christian also had an honoree each, rounding out the A.I.I.’s Gold Glove team recipients.

The three-day A.I.I. Baseball Championship tournament will begin on Saturday, May 6 at the Grizzly Baseball Complex on the campus of Georgia Gwinnett.

Player of the Year:  Jean Figueroa (Georgia Gwinnett)

Pitcher of the Year:  Kyle Chavez (Talladega)

Freshman of the Year:  Wilkin Louis (Talladega)

Newcomer of the Year:  Emilio Martinez (Talladega)

Coach of the Year:  Brad Stromdahl (Georgia Gwinnett)

All-A.I.I. First Team

SP – Kyle Chavez (Talladega)

SP – Richard Edwards (Edward Waters)

SP – Tyler Souris (Georgia Gwinnett)

SP – Zachary LeBlanc (Fisher)

RP – Stone Kelly (Georgia Gwinnett)

C – Jaime Villafane (Fisher)

C – Brady Shoppe (Georgia Gwinnett)

1B – Brady Hamilton (Georgia Gwinnett)

2B – Marcus McCorkle (Georgia Gwinnett)

SS – Jordan Pontious (Edward Waters)

3B – Deshawn Pittman (Tougaloo)

OF – Jean Figueroa (Georgia Gwinnett)

OF – Miguel Beltre (Edward Waters)

OF – Rodney Tennie (Georgia Gwinnett)

OF – Wilkin Louis (Talladega)

DH – Broderick Johnson (Talladega)

UTL – Dylan Heitz (Ozarks)

All-A.I.I. Second Team

SP – Frederick Belz (Edward Waters)

SP – Collan Thrasher (Ozarks)

SP – Trevor Bradley (Georgia Gwinnett)

SP – Brock Trexler (Lincoln Christian)

RP – Bryan Marquez (Talladega)

1B – Emilio Martinez (Talladega)

2B – Angel Perez Vargas (Fisher)

SS – Garrett Mack (Voorhees)

3B – Brad Isaac (Voorhees)

OF – Jesse Fisher (Ozarks)

OF – Cody Mercier (Fisher)

OF – Austin Schweiss (Ozarks)

OF – Hunter Wilcher (Central Christian)

DH – Kyler Timmerman (Georgia Gwinnett)

UTL – Deion Sellers (Georgia Gwinnett)

Gold Glove Recipients

C – Troy Carrigan (Central Christian)

1B – Emilio Martinez (Talladega)

2B – Deion Sellers (Georgia Gwinnett)

SS – Jordan Pontious (Edward Waters)

3B – Manuel Caballero (Talladega)

LF – Chris Jones (Georgia Gwinnett)

CF – Gustavo Castellano (Talladega)

RF – Miguel Beltre (Edward Waters)

P – Brock Trexler (Lincoln Christian)

Post navigation