Edward Waters Tigers Selected As #4 Seed In A.I.I. Baseball Championship




Edward Waters Sports Information


Lawrenceville, Georgia – Fresh off their fourth consecutive winning season, the Edward Waters baseball squad will turn their attentions to postseason play as they will participate in the Association of Independent Institutions (A. I. I.) Baseball Championships. The Tigers (26-23) will be the #4 seed in this year’s double-elimination tournament that will take place May 5th-7th at the Grizzly Baseball Complex on the campus of Georgia Gwinnett College in Lawrenceville, Georgia. Along with the Tigers, this year’s tournament field features host school #1 Georgia Gwinnett, #2 College of the Ozarks, #3 Talladega, and #5 Fisher College.

Edward Waters will battle Fisher in the tournament’s opening game on Saturday, May 5th at 11:00am. The winner of that contest will face #1 Georgia Gwinnett at 7:00pm later that night in the third game of the day. Talladega and College of the Ozarks will meet on the diamond at 3:00pm in the second game.

The tournament’s winner and runner-up will represent the A. I. I. in the 2018 NAIA Baseball Tournament. For those who cannot make it to Lawrenceville for the tournament, you can catch free live coverage via GGC’s Grizzly Digital Network at http://www.grizzlyathletics.com/GDN.php

2018 Association of Independent Institutions Baseball Championship Schedule

(at Grizzly Baseball Complex, Georgia Gwinnett College, Lawrenceville, Ga.)

Saturday, May 5                                                                                                                   

11 a.m.                                 Game #1      No. 4 Edward Waters vs. No. 5 Fisher

3 p.m.                                   Game #2      No. 2 College of the Ozarks vs. No. 3 Talladega

7 p.m.                                   Game #3      No. 1 Georgia Gwinnett College vs. Winner Game #1

Sunday, May 6                                                                                                                      

11 a.m.                                 Game #4      Loser Game #1 vs. Loser Game #2

3 p.m.                                   Game #5      Winner Game #3 vs. Winner Game #2

7 p.m.                                   Game #6      Winner game #4 vs. Loser game #3

Monday, May 7                                                                                                                     

11 a.m.                                 Game #7      Winner game #6 vs. Loser Game #5

3 p.m.                                   Game #8      Winner Game #5 vs. Winner Game #7

Tuesday, May 8                                                                                                                    

11 a.m.                                 Game #9      (if necessary)

Post navigation